Tuesday, February 28, 2012

Punjab BJP commits 15,000 people for Delhi rally

Chandigarh: April 15, 2010
The Punjab unit of Bharatiya Janata Party has committed to bring at least 15,000 people to the national rally against price rise to be held in Delhi on April 21.
The state unit of the party today held a meeting of district presidents, ministers, MLAs and chairmen of various boards, corporations etc to work out the modalities. The meeting held under the president ship of State president BJP Punjab Ashwani Sharma was presided over by party in-charge of Punjab affairs Balbir Punj and National Secretary Navjot Sidhu.
Thanking those present at the meeting, Ashwani Sharma expressed his confidence that the figure will exceed 15,000 as the state unit has always performed better than it said it would. He thanked all who had come to attend the meeting.
Earlier, Ashwani Sharma led the state unit in according a warm welcome to Mr Sidhu when he arrived at the venue for the first time after becoming the national secretary.
Mr Balbir Punj said this is going to be the biggest ever rally in Delhi and it will be the Waterloo of the Congress government at the centre. He said the steep rise in the prices of essential commodities was due to the faulty economic policies and corruption in high places rather than a demand-supply gap, since the government is sitting over a large buffer stock of food grains.
Speaking on the occasion Navjot Sidhu said informed that the party has launched a massive signature campaign at the grassroots level against the faulty policies of the Central government. The party assigned special duties to the sitting MLAs, ministers and district presidents for the signature campaign and the national rally.
Sidhu further detailed that the national rally will be held at the Ramlila Grounds and will be followed by a march to Parliament. The party has been holding anti-price rise campaign and rallies in various parts of the country.
Others who were present at the meeting included Punjab General Secretary (organisation) Ajay Jamwal, Local Bodies and Industry Minister Manoranjan Kalia, Transport Minister Master Mohan Lal, Technical Education Minister Swarna Ram, Health Minister Laxmi Kanta Chawla, Chief Parliamentary Secretaries Sukhpal Singh Nanhu, Jagdish Sahni, Raj Khurana and Arunesh Shakar, Dy Speaker Sat Pal Gosian and Chairmen of various boards and corporation Vijay Sampla, Narrotam Dev Ratti, DP Chandan, Mahinder Bhagat, Sat Pal Saini. Chairman of Improvement Trusts Ashok Bharti, Indu Singla, Hira Lal Dhir, and Bhupesh Aggarwal. MLAs Dinesh Singh Babbu, Amarjit Singh Shahi, KD Bhandari, Harish Bedi, Bishamber Dass, Sita Ram Kashyap and Anil Joshi.

No comments:

Post a Comment